Holiday from Art/Fitness

20130704-072547.jpg

A quick scan of the excellent wordpress app tells me that I haven’t posted anything since the 19th of last month. That is clearly not often enough. The reason being, however, is that I seem to have taken a break from making any art since college finished. I’ve occasionally doodled in a wee sketchbook but that’s been the extent of my creative output. I thought I would be inspired to do some network in the artshed over the holidays but that hasn’t been the case so far. Instead I’ve been, arguably, busy with housework, the garden etc.

20130704-073616.jpg

The other day I decided I have had enough of looking at my ever expanding middle aged waistline and set myself the goal of getting rid of it. So I dug out the running shoes and got to it. I don’t know what methods other folk employ when getting into, or back into, running but I like to start off with a few sessions of walk/run/walk/run. I count steps – 50 initially – as I go along and gradually increase the number of running steps to walking ones. I don’t need to reiterate the universal benefits of exercise here but already I feel a bit sharper, although there are a few unfamiliar aches in the legs now.

This morning, after I’ve dropped the kids off, I’m going to get some mountain biking back into my life. It’s been way too long since I had a blast round the local woods. I usually just leave from the house but seeing as my route back from nursery takes me past a nice big forestry commission wood with a variety of trails, it’s too good a chance to miss. School finishes tomorrow so I won’t have the chance to indulge myself like this for a while.

I do hope that I can keep up some kind of exercise routine and that it’s not just a summer fad. Much as I love the aesthetic of decay, it’s something I need to try and stall in my own body.

2 thoughts on “Holiday from Art/Fitness

  1. A lot of respect to you! Getting started is the most difficult part for me in anything new that’s a biggie. But then I also don’t last very well to the end with something like uh exercise 😛
    Sounds like you’ve been putting some investment into your physical wellbeing. It’s good to hear – no doubt will be reflected in your art in good time. A break never hurt anyone. Hope you can find chances to continue the running/biking in some form over the summer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

