My Love For Construction Grows

20130221-221735.jpg
I am really getting into construction – or assemblage, collage, bricolage, montage etcetera. Nails, stones, bone, wood, wire, wool, thread – I just like materials and seeing what I can do with them. The stuff I’ve done so far is fairly simple and I know I haven’t even scratched the surface of what I can do with it. The problem is that there are so many directions it can go. I was sketching earlier and was reminded of some covers I used to make for compilation cassettes (remember those?) about 16 years ago. I used to get old copies of National Geographic magazine from the Oxfam shop and cut up the interesting textures and paste them in a formal way with black ink borders around them. I may need to revisit and update this method for my current work.

I’m pleasantly surprised by the high number of likes for my Mousetrap Man in the last post. Thank you – it’s made me realise that I shouldn’t neglect the blog.

Finally, I submitted my digital folio for art college today. Hopefully the images will engage the selectors enough to grant me an interview – It’s going to be a bit tense and nervy until I hear back about it.

One thought on “My Love For Construction Grows

Leave a Reply

